Testimonials

 

Margie Wilson, Skagit Valley Genealogical Society – March 2018.

“So, once again, thank you for taking the substantial time and effort to come up to the Skagit Valley for your program. … Even yesterday (Monday) at a DAR meeting in Mount Vernon I heard several compliments about your Irish research presentation that you gave at SVGS last Saturday. The topic really seemed to get genealogists up away from their computers, out of their pajamas as eager to learn more about solving their brickwalls.

 

Trevor Parkhill, Editor – Familia: Ulster Genealogical Review – February 2018.

“Your interpretation of the Ballyhaise, Co. Cavan 1821 census … will prove to be of enormous interest and benefit to … our readership …  . It is that rarest of genealogical sources, an authenticated document from the pre-Famine period … . The tables … will add to its general research value.”

 

Kathy Erlandson, Olympia Genealogical Society – November 2017.

            “Thank you Steven, for your wonderful presentation and the accompanying notes!”

 

Carol Rikerd, Tacoma-Pierce County Genealogical Society – May 2017.

“Thank you for coming to our rescue on short notice, and encouraging us to begin the so-easy-to-put off work of writing. Everyone who spoke to me said how much they enjoyed this talk, and how much they learned from you.”

 

Nancy Ladenberger, Puget Sound Genealogical Society – April 2017.

“Thank you for your talk last Saturday, it was one of the best I have ever attended”

 

ASG Scholar Award for 2016

At their meeting in Salt Lake City on October 8, 2016 the Fellows of The American Society of Genealogists granted their annual ASG Scholar Award to Steven W. Morrison, MPA, of Olympia, Washington, for his article “Quaker John Starr of Antrim and Cavan, Ireland, and His Five Sons Who Sailed to Pennsylvania.” The ASG Scholar Award rewards talented genealogists with stipends to pursue advanced academic training in genealogy.

 

Bagley Dawson, Bainbridge Island Genealogy Society – October 2016.

“I appreciated your insights – amongst many others- to look at a wider time sweep … ; and especially the clarity you brought to as morass of genetic population data.”

 

Barbara Lockard, Lower Columbia Genealogy Society – October 2016.

“Your programs are always very upbeat, and you have a wonderful talent of keeping your audience engaged and motivated. Thank you for helping to make us more informed genealogists.” 

 

Judy Rice, Puget Sound Genealogy Society – August 2016.

“I thank you for coming to educate us on the Julian to Gregorian Calendar changes. Myself, I was impressed with your ability to liven an academic topic with your well-placed humor and personalized examples.”

 

Patty Olsen, Lewis County Genealogy Society – May 2016.

“I learn new things every time you present a program. We loved it.”

 

J. Edward Starr, Tucson Arizona – March 2016.

“I read your Familia article with great interest. You have done a masterful job of documenting our family in Ireland. It is great to finally have a scholarly source to cite on our Irish roots. Thank you so much for your research and for the copy of your article.”

 

Trevor Parkhill, Editor –Familia: Ulster Genealogical Review – January 2016.

“Your stylishly-written article, … will prove to be of enormous interest to our widely-spread readership. In telling the story of one family will serve to exemplify the migratory path of many others … . I hope you are pleased with the outcome …”

 

Patty Olsen, Lewis County Genealogy Society – May 2015.

“I’m embarrassed to be so far behind the 8-ball thanking you for your wonderful presentation. You got rave reviews from my members. You are so informative, but more than that, you’re very easy to listen to!”

 

Barbara Lockard, Lower Columbia Genealogy Society – September 2014.

“It is always a pleasure to hear you speak, and we leave your presentations with a new sense of motivation due to your shared techniques.”

 

Student comments, The Evergreen State College – November 2009.

“Mr. Morrison helped to clarify some important ideas for me about why the Irish feel the need to be Celtic.”

“I wasn’t such a great science student in high school, but now I feel like it’s not totally out of reach for to do this kind of work.”

“The resource section was great in the handout.”